top of page

Bouncing Back!

Hey wonderful people!

Picture 1. In the second half of 2017

Have you ever asked yourself why it is so hard for you to adopt healthier habits? Well you are definitely not alone. Many people struggle daily to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Some of us out here (🙋🏾‍♀️) are still pushing to achieve that balance where we are satisfied with the way we live in terms of nutrition, physical appearance, relationship maintenance, social circles and all. Adulting is no joke!

The two pictures shown in this post were take on Thanksgiving 2017, and July 2017 respectively. I was very unhappy with the woman I saw in the mirror (physically unfit, emotionally damaged, and an inadequate mother).

It took me almost 12 months to get out of that negative mindset I was in before taking action. After Mother's Day in 2018, I finally decided to start exercising and adopted a strict eating regimen.

I remember how difficult it was for me to start exercising again after 2 years of inconsistency and decreased physical activity.

It was the most difficult habit to rebuild after I fell back into my old behaviors (overeating, eating sweets consistently, not eating as many vegetables as I used to, making excuses for why I cannot, etc).

All I knew is that I needed to make it happen and take ownership of every choice I made that led to me to feel so negatively about myself.

Evaluating my life and it’s direction, I can say I am slowly making changes I am proud of. Since I started this journey, I have been focused on being consistent and persistent with my exercise routine on a weekly basis. I started small- I purchased resistance bands and started a cardio routine at home before I jumped into going to the gym.

I still go to the gym or exercise 5 days a week at a minimum since June 2018. It is as hard for me to miss a day of exercise now, but it is used to be so easy to make excuses like I used to and I welcome the challenge.

How do I feel today? Well I am still growing and learning about myself. That is the beauty of a weight loss, maintenance journey. Better yet, that is the nature of any self-discovery journey: embrace the mistakes and learn from them...

As a Behavioral Health Educator, I really do learn compassion for myself and others everyday. Never stop seeking to improve and become a better version of yourself! Have a wonderful day folks!

bottom of page