top of page

Flavor Town (Haitian Epices!!!)


Do you love cooking but unsure how to instill flavor in healthy foods you cook? Well this might be a great answer for you!

Back when growing up in Haiti, I saw my late maternal grandmother preparing a version of this and using it in different ways when I was younger: marinating meat, adding it to your pan when sauteeing vegetables and more. One or two tablespoons of this adds a layer of flavor to the food I cook when I want to impress...

Feel free to add other spices to your taste, but see below for recipe...

Recipe

Small Container of Haitian Epices

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cups of Garlic cloves

  • 2-3 bunches of green onions including green stems with roots removed (spring onions)

  • 1-2 habanero chili peppers (optional)

  • 1 cup of avocado oil (or oil of choice, preferably flavorless oil)

  • 1 tablespoon of sea salt

Instructions

  1. Add all the ingredients into a food processor or blender

  2. Blend ingredients for 1-2 minutes until it looks like a yummy green smoothie!

  3. Store in a glass container for up to 6 weeks (e.g. mason jar)

 

My mother makes a version of this for fish/meat in which she adds half a cup of vinegar or yellow mustard to add some acidity. That version can be stored also but only tastes good to me for 1-2 weeks unless you freeze it as that sour taste becomes overwhelmingly bitter (then it last as long as 2 months or until you finish it all!).

I prefer making it without the vinegar and adding the acid when I am marinating the fish/meat. I have seen versions that include fresh parsley, bell peppers, and even yellow onions. I keep mine simple with ingredients listed in recipe... I am tempted to add cumin to a different version to marinate pork - that would be interesting....

Well have fun making this!

bottom of page